Just Writin'

Accepting Jesus Christ into your life is the best thing that can ever happen for your timeline.✝️


Are you making the most of your dash?

I hardly ever see funeral lines and hearse, but when I do it’s a gentle reminder that one day I have to leave this Earth, so let me get on it! On what you say? Making the most of life. Pursuing what it is you are meant to do… Going after the good things you desire… Learning that new thing you wish to learn… etc.

I’ve always wanted to buy a pair of skates and I think I will soon, or if not buy them at least go to the rink more often. I love skating and desire to get good at it, and the truth of the matter is these legs may not always be capable of doing all those movements.

I want to pose a question to you. Are you making the most of your dash? I honestly don’t feel I am. What do you mean by dash Maritza? Well you see, I’ve heard many sermons but one that I can’t forget is this particular one where the speaker described the dash between the year you were born and the year you die. He brought to our attention how we should care about what our dash will equal up to.

I was a teenager and I knew I wanted a full life but I never really thought about it that deeply. I actually didn’t think much of it in that moment, but the message has stuck with me over the years. Because I recently saw a hearse going down the road it was yet another reminder of the brevity of life. Seeing that life is short, are we “seizing the moment”. As a Christian when I say this I don’t mean go out and drink and club and chase women. But don’t spend your life in front of the tv set. Tv is good, IN IT’S PLACE. But think about it for a moment.

Is there anything you have let get dusty? Is there anything you have mistakenly abandoned? Why not pick up that book that you want to finish? Enroll in that school you want to attend? Try a new food or store? Shute, eat off of a real plate? I recently made up my mind that I will not spend my life eating dinner on paper plates nor will my children now that they are older. I don’t know when I even started that but it is not something I wish to continue and just to throw it out there some Goodwill stores have some of the most beautiful plates and dishes for reasonable prices. This is something that matters to me, may not be a biggie to you.

For you it may be something simple it may be something big. We are all at different places in our life and some of us can’t take a trip but we can plane for a trip.. even if it’s a few years away. We can even plan to take a road trip or visit an interesting place in our city or state. Maybe you are funny and want to take a shot at open mic night. Whatever living is to you, don’t wait too late to do it. “It’s later than you think.”

There’s a song that I recently heard called “Enjoy yourself”. I’m going to place the lyrics below.

-Maritza Holley



Leave a comment

About Me

I am a 34 year old Christian, wife, and mother of four young children. I am also a Christian rapper and poet. I first gave my life to Christ as a teenager when my mother and I would walk to a local church but soon after backslid. I rededicated my life to Christ in 2012. Giving my life to Jesus Christ is the best thing I could have ever done. I was born and raised in Georgia where I currently reside. My hobbies include thrifting and trying new recipes. I also enjoy reading, writing, good conversations, and listening to gospel music.

https://www.facebook.com/MaritzaHolley7/ https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCHtbW8DnYMwusFZhmYGeM5Q/videos

Newsletter