Just Writin'

Accepting Jesus Christ into your life is the best thing that can ever happen for your timeline.✝️


Using Our Gifts for God’s Glory

As some of you may or may not already know I am a poet and Christian rapper. But- as we commonly do- before being born again I did not use my gifts in a way that honors God.

I discovered that I could rap when I was in about the 9th grade. We had a group project and I was so surprised at what I wrote. There were a few more times I used this talent from that time where I learned something that I did not know about myself before. I realized I was good at poetry at a young age as well but it wasn’t until my late teens and early twenties that I began to realize I just might have something.

When I was in college I wrote a poetry book entitled “Poetry as the Ultimate Cure” in which I talked about how I was pursuing so many other things to fulfill me and how poetry was the answer or ‘cure’. (It’s funny cause now I realize Jesus Christ is the ultimate cure.) Well, I planned on publishing it but never did. I would let a few people read my poems and they would be astonished. There was one particular lady in our dormitory that always encouraged me in this area. However, there were a few problems.

All the work I created before I was born again was riddled with profanity amongst other things. My mentality before becoming a Christian was not healthy. In 2012 I rededicated my life to Christ, after having first done so as a teen. In doing this there is a sort of transition. The word of God says we become a new creature in Christ. We change. This change effects every aspect of out lives. We don’t think the same, we don’t talk the same, and we no longer act the same. In that, what we write changes becoming glimmers of hope.

At first I was confused. I did not want to let go of that old stuff. There was one song in particular that I was very fond of and I loved all of the poems that I wrote. I felt like I was losing something. When it comes to rapping it can be hard to accept the fact that you have to operate differently. But, over time it all became clear to me. I am put here on this Earth to be used as a vessel for God. So, I don’t fight it because I want to let God take control of my life. This is not something that is sad or that we should be ashamed of. At first it may feel awkward but we should be proud to let God use us for His glory.

Honestly, using my gifts for God is more fulfilling than any thing I have done before. The old poems and songs that I hoped would be successful don’t mean much to me anymore. It’s not even something I’m proud of anymore. I remember a time where I was so proud of what I had accomplished. My poetry book was my pride and joy. I couldn’t wait to share my work with those who were interested. But I am now most proud of the things God does through me. This brings me life. This brings life.

Now when I write I am conscious of who I represent. My prayer is that with the power of God I am forever able to use my gifts in a way that honors God. It is my hope that reading this inspires someone else to do the same.



Leave a comment

About Me

I am a 34 year old Christian, wife, and mother of four young children. I am also a Christian rapper and poet. I first gave my life to Christ as a teenager when my mother and I would walk to a local church but soon after backslid. I rededicated my life to Christ in 2012. Giving my life to Jesus Christ is the best thing I could have ever done. I was born and raised in Georgia where I currently reside. My hobbies include thrifting and trying new recipes. I also enjoy reading, writing, good conversations, and listening to gospel music.

https://www.facebook.com/MaritzaHolley7/ https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCHtbW8DnYMwusFZhmYGeM5Q/videos

Newsletter