Just Writin'

Accepting Jesus Christ into your life is the best thing that can ever happen for your timeline.✝️


Friends… How many of us have them?

As I reflect on my life I can’t help but recall that one of the worst reasons I disconnected with a good friend was over something so minor. It wasn’t because she mistreated me, it wasn’t because she gossiped about me, it was because when we would get together she would be on her phone for majority of the time. In my eyes that meant it was time for me to disconnect. I was young. I was impatient. As an adult I realize I did not handle this situation right.

I still remember calling my daddy to ask him what he thought. I didn’t want to make a hasty decision. He felt like I should look past that. He felt it was no big deal and that I should just talk to her, but I didn’t. I just disappeared. Now that I look back on it, I cannot believe I did that. She was really one of the most solid and down to Earth people I have ever come across!! But, I guess I didn’t think things through.

Instead of weighing the pros and cons all I saw was what was not right. This was years ago but I believe people have gotten worse today. People are quick to disconnect. A few months ago I was actually talking to an older woman that mentioned how she cut a friend off over 20 dollars. I couldn’t believe that. It sounded so trivial to me. Do we value friendship today?

On the other hand a while back I met a senior citizen at the batting cage and she shared with me that she still played on a softball team with friends from Kindergarten. They were her best friends to this day. I thought that was a bit strange but through everything in life even relocation they had managed to hang onto each other. They must have really valued their friendship to stay connected so many years.

Nowadays, especially as an adult, it’s hard to come across good and genuine friends. One minute people are smiling in your face and the next minute it’s something else. So when we do come across a good genuine friend we should not be so quick to disconnect over minor things. We have to know when to hold on and when to move on.

I recently watched a short clip of Oprah speaking on her friendship with Gayle and the way she described it was unbelievable. It sounds like the kind of friendship one can only dream of. While I’m sure it’s not perfect it’s clear that they’ve managed to build something worth holding onto. I’m sure they have faced challenges and worked through issues during their lengthy friendship as no friendship is perfect. It’s important to hang on to a true friend because I truly believe they are few and far between.



2 responses to “Friends… How many of us have them?”

  1. Once again, you’ve managed to tackle this topic with grace! True friendships have seemingly become a dwindling concept and I truly believe that the concept of “convenience” has compromised the importance of “quality” as time has progressed. Jesus fix it. 🤣 Great read!

    1. I agree, Thanks for your feedback!

Leave a comment

About Me

I am a 34 year old Christian, wife, and mother of four young children. I am also a Christian rapper and poet. I first gave my life to Christ as a teenager when my mother and I would walk to a local church but soon after backslid. I rededicated my life to Christ in 2012. Giving my life to Jesus Christ is the best thing I could have ever done. I was born and raised in Georgia where I currently reside. My hobbies include thrifting and trying new recipes. I also enjoy reading, writing, good conversations, and listening to gospel music.

https://www.facebook.com/MaritzaHolley7/ https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCHtbW8DnYMwusFZhmYGeM5Q/videos

Newsletter